Society for Family Health

Work is officially in session!

IMG_2924 (first day of work selfie per tradition)

Lute has come to pick me up for two days now to take me to work since she’s an awesome co-fellow 🙂 The first day we caught a ride from a Society for Family Health driver and the second day we took a cab. Once we arrive at work, it is beautiful inclusive of a large, open floor plan space intended to physically embody the creative juices that are flowing to innovativley promote sexy topics like female condoms, male circumcision, and HIV prevention. IMG_2941IMG_2933

We will both be in the communications department at the Society for Family Health; Lute will be a communications strategist and I will be a design strategist, and together we bring a lot of personality and new perspectives to SFH! And the current GHC Fellows at SFH are incredible! They took us out to lunch at Deli (our new favorite hot spot and of course I found meat to eat!) and really have helped us get acclimated to SFH and life here in general.  Brittany is actually staying and working on another project at SFH and will be working with the communications team for the next year. WE ARE SO EXCITED that she’s staying 🙂

FullSizeRender (4) IMG_3111

I’m also excited about the opportunity to do what I love in the field that I love and for the amount of impact to which it could lead. I have been told that I will be the first official designer on the SFH staff and will be working on a host of cool projects ranging from websites to video editing to graphics to media to photography to campaign planning. Design is a hot commodity these days! And it is so incredible to be warmly welcomed into the SFH community, which is the Zambian branch the internationally renowned and incredible PSI, or Populations Services International. PSI-English-Logo-COLOR-200x124

So basically, Population Services International is a 501(c)(3) registered nonprofit global health organization with programs targeting malariachild survivalHIV and reproductive health. Working in partnership within the public and private sectors, and harnessing the power of the markets, PSI provides life-saving products, clinical services and behavior change communications that empower the world’s most vulnerable populations to lead healthier lives.

AKA this is an incredible organization that I am joining and it is exciting. But simultaneously terrifying. I love being the first designer in organizations that gets to set the precedent and define the boundaries of the job; at the same time, I do worry about the influx of work that I am about to be slammed with. Design work is needed in almost every SFH department and on every project, so I know that I am going to have to be diligent with my time management skills. I might even have the chance to travel for some promotional campaign work which would be incredible! I just know myself and am weary of my ability to stick to a really strict schedule for an extended period of time. So I guess it is time to grow up and just do it. I know that once we get our schedules down, our computers in sync, our emails made, our commutes determined and our lunches made for each day, we will hit the ground running and it will, no doubt, be exhilarating! Here’s to the start of another adventure within a series of inception-like larger adventures here in Zambia! IMG_2925

I cannot wait for my journey at the Society for Family where we are marketing for good health because I believe that design has the power to change the world for the better.

Leave a Reply

