Dutch Market Shopping in Kabulonga

So Saturday was a beautiful, lazy day. I woke up by the sound of my buzzing Samsung go phone. Effie wanted to check out the Dutch market with me! After scrounging around my Belvedere lodge room, I finally pulled together an outfit for the market. We walked for what seemed like years, after getting lost numerous times on the treacherous mounds of dirt that serve as sidewalks. Seriously it was like off-roading. FINALLY, we made it to the Dutch market, a place frequented by expats to buy a host of African designed items for their personal collection.

IMG_1460 IMG_1469

We ran into some of our ZamFam there, bargaining for the best deals, and Effie and I both bought new bags!

IMG_1471  IMG_1480

I love market shopping and checking out all the hand crafted jewelry; we even saw some bracelets that we made from the copper in the Copperbelt!

IMG_1489 IMG_1491

I felt so peaceful being surrounded by so many colors and beautiful things—well as peaceful as you can when you are surrounded by people aggressively selling you their salt and pepper shakers. Despite that, I found my happy place there. The market only comes once a month, and I am counting down the days until the next one!

Leave a Reply

